There is great expectation in the United Kingdom for the Greyhound Derby. A highly anticipated appointment for fans of the greyhound races. This is the premier competition in the sport and attracts not only the leading four-bend performers from the United Kingdom, but also some of the elite Irish greyhounds and it is the highlight of the entire year, and it will now be an event that is hosted at Towcester Greyhound Stadium and run over 500m, and takes place between May and July. The Greyhound Derby is the most prestigious race in the world of greyhound racing and is a must for the lovers of betting, which they will appreciate greyhound derby betting odds at William Hill.

The Greyhound Derby possesses a rich history, with the inaugural competition dating all the way back to 1927. While it may have a rich history, it also possesses a very bright future at its new home of Towcester Racecourse. It was first run at White City in 1927 and also at Haringay in 1940, before being contested at White City over 500y, 525y and 500m up until 1984 when it finally left that stadium and moved to Plough Lane, Wimbledon in 1985, and since it’s move to that venue it has continued to be the marquee event in the greyhound calendar, and down the years has been won by some of the finest greyhounds to ever grace the sport. However, Wimbledon’s closure in 2017 saw the last Greyhound Derby run at that venue take place in 2016, which was an event won by Jaytee Jet, but down the years some sensational greyhounds have won the competition. Mick The Miller was the first legendary greyhound to win the Greyhound Derby as he bagged victory in the event in 1929 and 1930, while Patricias Hope (1972 & 1973) was another dual winner of the event and is another standout name on what is a fantastically, illustrious roll of honour, and that list of winners has been enhanced by some more notable winners of the epic event. Nick Savva’s Westmead Hawk is one of the modern greats to have scorched the Wimbledon sand and the stunning greyhound powered to victory in the 2005 Greyhound Derby before retaining his crown a year later, while another huge name associated with this event is the great trainer Charlie Lister, who has trained multiple winners of the competition, with dual winner Rapid Ranger (2000 & 2001) and Taylors Sky (2011) just two of his star performers that have bounded to success in what is a great spectacle.

On 1st July 2017, six greyhounds will line up chasing a winner’s purse of £175,000, and total prize-money for the event will eclipse £350,000, making it the richest greyhound competition in the world. It will take the winner approximately 29 seconds to complete the 500m course at Towcester and that equates to over £6,000 per second. The Greyhound Derby 2017 final night is a great occasion, the best greyhounds from the UK and Ireland will do battle in 14 races over various distances. Be part of this spectacular event and make sure you are here to witness history in the making.

First Round – Thursday 1st June, Friday 2nd June, Saturday 3rd June

Second Round – Friday 9th June, Saturday 10th June

Third Round – Saturday 17th June

Quarter Finals – Tuesday 20th June

Semi Finals – Saturday 24th June

Final – Saturday 1st July